Exclusive, Top Stories, Photo News, Articles & Opinions
Bookmark and Share

Date Published: 05/11/10

PDP Zoning Formula, Obasanjo is a liar: Integrity Group


A group has vowed to challenge the former President Olusegun Obasanjo over his comment that PDP have not enter into any arrangement about sharing power or zoning system with any section of the country, in respect of the Presidency slot.  

The Group PDP Integrity Group, championing the cause of good governance and equity in the PDP described Obasanjo as reckless leader who like to contrive issues to bring confusion into politics.

The group further stated that, Obasanjo have no business of interfering with the decisions reached by the National meeting of the Caucus of the PDP where it make arrangement for the adherent of zoning arrangement for the unity of the PDP, because Obasanjo have failed the party by not coming out to stand on justice and fairness during his tenure.

The PDP Integrity Group caution Obasanjo not to play with destiny of the party through his diabolical plan of hatching a dangerous trend to divert its chances of victory come 2011 general elections.

The Group stated that out of the all members of the PDP Caucus that have attended the meeting of the party at the Presidential Villa, on the 2 nd December, 2002, forty seven endorsed the zoning arrangement which include the former President himself.

According to group, the then National Chairman of the party, Chief Audu Ogbeh, put the matter to votes by asking those who wanted the party to ensure the South had two terms of 4 years each, beginning from May 1999 after which to revolves to the North for the same period to raise their hands, in which after the votes 47 goes for, while 2 against and 2 are absentees.

Therefore, it challenge Obasanjo and those clamoring of abandoning the arrangement after 2011 to bring their own reasons, different from the party point of views.

The group stressed that, PDP decision is unanimously taken for the unity and stability of the politics by all the PDP stakeholders, and even the present President Goodluck Jonathan is around at the meeting, where he represented his Governor, when this decision where taken.

The group explained that, for the wisdom of the Caucus, Chief Sunday Afolabi have to supports the Lawal Kaita’s position at the meeting to allow South to have two terms of 4 years each after which it would return to the North for the same number of the years, why then Obasanjo and bunch of his opportunists come to scatter this noble idea?

The group explained that the decision to come out and challenge Obasanjo and his cohorts are in taken to bring lasting solution to our polity and exposed him as dubious liar who want polarized our politics with hatred and disunity in order to score cheap popularity.

The group said, idea of zoning is excellent, it bring unity and political cohesion through understanding and respect among all the stakeholders, may be that is the reason people like Obasanjo benefitted.

However, the group advised President Goodluck Jonathan to be caution of sycophants hiding under the guise of opportunity and closeness to bring disrepute of his good intention of steering this country with justice, fairness and due process.

The meeting to seal the zoning arrangement of power sharing between South and North took place as follows:

Venue: Presidential Villa, Abuja. Date; 2 nd December, 2002. Time at 10.07 with prayer by the National Security Adviser (NSA). See the lists of attendance.

1.    Chief Audu Ogbeh                         National Chairman

2.    Chief Olusegun Obasanjo             President

3.    Atiku Abubakar                                Vice President

4.    Ghali Na’ Abba                                Speaker

5.    Alhaji Ibrahim Mantu                       Deputy Senate President

6.    Dr. Alex I Ekwueme                        Chairman, BOT

7.    Chief Solomon D Lar                      Adviser Emeritus

8.    Chief Tony Anenih                         Member

9.    Prof. Jerry Gana                             Secretary, BOT

10.                Chief S M Afolabi                 

11.                Joshua C Dariye                             Gov. Plateau State

12.                R M Kwankwaso                             Gov. Kano State

13.                Abdullahi Adamu                            Gov. Nassarawa State

14.                Dr. Peter Odili                        Gov. Rivers State

15.                Chief U.J Ekaette                  SGF

16.                Hon. Inuwa Labaran             Nat. Org. Secretary

17.                Nze Ozi F. Chukwu               Nat. Vice Chairman (SE)

18.                Sen. A. D Sodangi                Senator

19.                Engr. Muh’d Abba Gana      Minister, FCT

20.                Senator Victor K. Oyofo       Senator

21.                Chief (Mrs) Josephine Anenih      Nat. Woman Leader

22.                Prince G.N Iweka                  SAP/NO

23.                Alhaji Shuaib A Oyedokun   Dep. Nat. Chairman (S)

24.                Hon. Umar Kareto Lawan    National Treasurer

25.                Chief Mao Ohuabunwa                  Dep. House Leader

26.                Ahmed Mohammed Makarfi Gov. Kaduna State

27.                Engr. Abdulkadir Kure          Gov. Niger State

28.                Senator E. O Elayo               Member, BOT

29.                Dr. Sam Egwu                       Gov. Ebonyi State

30.                Boni Haruna                          Gov. Adamawa State

31.                Chief Achike Udenwa           Gov. Imo State

32.                Chief Victor Attah                  Gov. Akwa Ibom State

33.                Senator Emmuanuel Ibok Essien Senate Deputy Chief Whip

34.                Senator Adawari Michael Pepple Senate Chief Whip

35.                Dr. Goodluck E Jonathan              Deputy Gov. Bayelsa State

36.                Hon. Sadiq A Sanusi            Dep. Chief Whip (HR)

37.                Senator Haruna Abubakar   Senator

38.                Suleiman Othman Hunkuyi           

39.                Alh. Chief Mrs Sinatu Ojikutu

40.                Dr. Prince D Okonkwo

41.                Okechukwu Itanyi                  Dep Gov. Enugu

42.                Prince Chinedu Emeka        Dep. Gov. Anambra

43.                Aliyu G Mohammed              NSA

44.                Farouk Bibi Farouk                Nat. Youth Leader

45.                Chief A. K Dikibo                             Nat. Vice Chairman (SS)

46.                Chief Roland Oritsejafor       Dep. National Secretary

47.                Hon. Arc, Innocent Agbo      National Auditor


You got News for us, give us a tip at: newstip@pointblanknews.com. We treat them confidential as we investigate!
Bookmark and Share
© Copyright of pointblanknews.com. All Rights Reserved.